Skip to main content
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

Could some people suggest some commands you can use in Excel? I’m not very experienced, and it would be great to know how to use it to do the steganography!

Anonymous
    Inactive
    Anonymous
    Inactive

Personally, if you want to get into cryptography, I would recommend learning to program instead of learning the excel commands (as from what i know, they work pretty similarly, at least to visual basic? not sure, don’t use excel, but i can program)
    I would recommend python to start off with, as its syntax (commands) is quite easy.
    For cryptography, string manipulation is probably what you’re most interested in, and maybe some basic maths.
    You can find decent lessons on https://www.codecademy.com/ (hopefully that doesn’t get clipped), or just search up on google ‘getting started with programming in python’. If you do decide to take this approach, I would also recommend installing a better text editor (such as notepad++) than the python IDLE (although not necessary, even i find myself using the python IDLE more frequently because i only need short programs, and executing my code is much quicker), as the so called ‘integrated development learning environment’ isn’t great for learning.
    The resource MissC has linked is also a good place to get started at, although i think that two pages on python might not be enough.
    If you’re determined to use excel, searching up something like ‘excel commands string manipulation’ in google, and looking at https://www.techonthenet.com/excel/formulas/index.php is probably not bad.

Anonymous
    Inactive

Thanks! That was really helpful. I’ve made loads of mistakes so far this challenge, but I’ll practice Python, and maybe next challenge I can do better.

Anonymous
    Inactive

hi

Anonymous
    Inactive