Skip to main content

Home Forums The Sixteenth National Cipher Challenge: The Lost Legion Can you use decoding websites to decrypt things?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

Or do you have to program everything yourself?

Anonymous
    Inactive

From the rules page: “In submitting an entry solo entrants vouch that it is solely their own work and teams warrant that it is solely their own collective work.”
    Note, winners will be asked to submit detailed descriptions of how they solved the problems.

Anonymous
    Inactive

I tend to use lots of simple little things I don’t even have to code – for instance, up until lately where my awesome teammate put together a bunch of code to do this quicker, I was using the ‘find and replace’ tool on notepad for monoalphabetic substitution decryption.

But yeah honestly, whilst I’m not a coder, from how I understand it there are lots of easier ways than using a website, including your own code. I can go and search up something that will crack a bifid cipher if I want, but it’ll probably ask for loads of details that I don’t have like the input square. Instead it’s much easier for me to put a request to my friend who does all the coding, saying “Can you make a piece of code which will pair off each n and n+m characters of the cipher text, where m is the total number of characters in the text divided by 2, and then have it convert each of the 25 different possible combinations from these new pairings into randomly assigned letters from A-Z with no J, then get it to perform frequency analysis and output both the frequency analysis and the string of the letters converted from pairs of numbers?” and he’ll be like “yeah sure gimme a few days.”

But yeah the point is in a lot of ways, writing code can be more useful than some websites which use a decryption process, because we understand the steps going on in between and don’t always need it decrypted all the way, just partially.